Innovative Marine Aquariums

40cm cube reef - First Attempt

mezan91

Hello,

I am starting out a 40cm cube with IOS. This is my first time starting a nano reef setup. Have been wanting to start a reef ever since my early teenage years (That's like 7 - 8 years ago). Haha. After settling down with school and national service, it is now time to live the dream. Haha.

Intend to keep a pair of nemo (clownfish as wife and mom only agree with the setup with this in it), softies and LPS. 

Bought a used equipment from a fellow reefer. 

Here is the list of equipment I have on hand so far:

• 40 cm cube tank with IOS
  • Aqua C Nano Remora
  • Maxspect 60W 16K
  • Hailea HS-28A

The Aqua C Nano remora comes with a 1300L/h pump, however, it can't fit into my 2nd chamber. Planning to use it for my return pump which will be connected to chiller before going into the display tank. Will it be sufficient? Will find a replacement for the skimmer pump, maybe the stock MJ 900?

For the filtration, I plan the following:

Compartment A - Chemical filtration
Compartment B - Mini Refugium with Chaeto / Skimmer pump
Compartment C - Skimmer output / Return pump connected to Chiller

Hi @dpoltsdsu,

Not quite sure on that yet. Probably some zoas, hammer, and such. Yet to really narrow down the choices. Will look around what is there when I head down to the LFS. It's been a while since I made a trip down.

Thinking of getting this rock and sand. What do you guys think?

3DM Reef Rock and 3DM Reef Sand by RevoReef

5fnmnq.jpg

On my shopping cart: 

- Aquarium System NJ1200 for the Aqua C Nano skimmer

- Jebao RW 4 wave maker

Here is an in-depth video of it.

The rocks come in a variety of sizes. I would see if you could grab some pictures when I drop by on the weekend. Hopefully to get some equipment tonight after work. 

When to LFS after work yesterday and gotten the following:
NJ1200 for the skimmer and RW 4 yesterday. 
IMG_20170315_210645.jpg