Pod Your Reef

fuge/wet dry questions

DravenXavier

DravenXavier

I'm pretty new at the whole nano thing. I've had a Red Sea Deco Art candy combo running as a nano for a little over six months now with wonderful results, so I've decided to try a 10 gallon. Now, my problem is with filtration. In the tiny nano I have, I have a patch of macro algae growing that controls the nitrates just fine, but I'd like a refugium for the 10, but I'd like to also incorporate a small wet/dry feature on to it as well. Water will be brought from a u-tube overflow down to about 1 gallon of bio balls, then to another 10 gallon with the sole purpose of being a refugium. I know everyone's main problem with the wet/dry is the nitrates produced, and I was wondering if a 10 gallon refugium would be sufficient to control the nitrates produced by the small amount of bio balls. I've tried to attach a diagram of the fuge, also showing a placement of a skimmer. I know I did not get the proportions right, as with the actual size of everything, over half of the 10 will contain the macro algae. Any other input would be great.

DravenXavier

Well, I don't plan on using as much liverock as most people do, but then, I'm not going to be carrying as much livestock either. I still have a lot of deciding to do. One big question though, if I have the fuge below the tank and use a pump to bring water back to the main tank, will I be massacreing all the pods that get sucked into it, or will a good amount of them make it through alive? If nothing's going to make it back into the tank alive, I may have to rethink things differently anyway

ApocalypticSurf6