SaltCritters.com

16g on dormrooms: dorm disaster!

Lisa166

Hello all, 

This is going to be my very first reef tank ever. I do have a lot of experience with freshwater, but a reeftank is completely new for me! 

I am studying and living in the Netherlands, so I have a fairly tight budget. But I managed to get my hands on a Dennerle marinus cube, 60L (12g). 

I have a intern filter and heater, and a machine to make RO water. Salt is bought and on its way. 

I am planning on filling the tank this week, and adding live rock next week! 

Any tips are welcome. 

• Like 1

:welcome:

What is your source for live rock?

My tip is to read Member's Tank Threads and learn from those, and don't be afraid to ask questions. 

Also, why are you in the Netherlands and not meeeeeee??? omgomgomg

I'll get there eventually....

Thank you for your reaction Weetabix!

I did not expect a reaction, I also do not understand why you would want to be in the Netherlands!

I have read and researched a lot! As far as I know there are only two kinds of live rock? Artifical, with bacteria but no organisms, and the real kind, with bacteria and organisms. I plan to get the real one, since I want to see all the organisms coming out and actually see that tank cycling! 

Welcome to wonderful world of nano-reefin!!!!

First of all, if you want to save some money, you don't need to buy expensive live rock!  Just buy dry reef rock and you can still cycle in many different ways!  I actually prefer not using live rock because it introduces bad stuff like algae, worms, and other things you do not want in aquarium!  Also if you are using dry rock, its way more fun because you can smash them and re-glue it to make it just way you want, outside of tank and water!  And did i mention its much much much cheaper???? 

Just wondering, what kind of filter is it?  Like dividers on the backside?

• Like 1
On 9-3-2017 at 11:07 AM, oogie said:

Welcome to wonderful world of nano-reefin!!!!