Coral Vue Hydros

DevFishe's 2.5g itty bitty Pico Reef- New Updates

DevFishe

Most recent pic:

26301095169_70fb93df47_k.jpgDSC_2728 by Devon Fisher, on Flickr

Original post:

Hi all!

I've been browsing around this site for a while now and decided to join. I've been keeping freshwater fish for about 2 years and decided to take the plunge into saltwater about 7 months ago with a 2.5 gallon tank sitting in my closet. At the time I didn't know what a pico reef was, or anything about the saltwater hobby. All the employees at my LFS tried to dissuade me from starting with a 2.5 gallon tank, but I'm super stubborn :lol:. After browsing around online and finding as much information as I could, I started my 2.5g reef in August 2016. in the beginning I wanted to have a single piece of live rock covered with pulsing xenia, but before long I became a little more ambitious. I've made a ton of mistakes along the way- battled the typical "new tank syndrome", cyano, had to replace my petco sand with aragonite, and moved the tank several times- but here's my tank today.

My equipment includes: 

-Elite 25w heater,

-aquatech 5-10 HOB filter,

-and super duper cheap pennplex light (don't know the name, reason why my corals are brown:)

for my filtration I am using filter floss and seachem Matrix.  

Livestock: Xenia, palythoas, birdsnest, frogspawn, candycane coral, montipora, acanthastrea, zoanthids, little gorgonian, GSP, bird of paradise and favites pentagona. I also have one blue-legged hermit crab and a hi fin red banded goby. All corals are unidentified and from the "Discount" section (except the birdsnest haha).

Every week I change out 50% of the water and clean the HOB. I'm very much a newbie to picos and saltwater in general, so any advice would help!

IMG_0070.thumb.JPG.5c303b732537de1fe9ab349bf6d19d45.JPG

IMG_0418.JPG

IMG_0066.JPG

DSC_2640 smaller.jpg

DSC_2647.JPG

• Like 3

:welcome: to N-R!!!

I actually think you haven't done bad at all so far!!