Top Shelf Aquatics

Money's Evo 5 *Lets Try this Reef thing*

money88

So I picked up an Evo 5 while I was out picking up a spec III for my girlfriend this weekend. This is my first attempt at saltwater and a reef so bare with me. I am already in the progress of putting together a 40g breeder as well but I haven't gotten around to cutting the bean animal overflow yet.

But back to the Evo, I created this thread to track my progress and share my experiences. Any ideas, suggestions or comments are extremely welcome. I am currently going to run the evo stock until I see that upgrades are necessary for what I am wanting.

FULL TANK SHOTS

April 2017

February 2017

TANK SPECIFICATIONS

Started: 2/27/2017

TANK

- Fluval Evo 5 AIO

EQUIPMENT 

- Hydor Theo Heater (50W)

- Digital thermometer 

- BRS value plus rodi unit (purchased for use with 40g)

- Instant Ocean Reef Crystals

- inTank Media Basket

- Jebao SW-2 DC Powerhead/Wavemaker

LIGHTING

- Nanobox Tide Plus M

FILTRATION

- inTank Media Basket Filled from top to bottom:

• Filter Pad/Floss
  • Carbon
  • Chemi-pure Elite Blue (nano)
  • Biomax 

- Live Rock

- Live Sand

FEEDING

- Frozen Mysis: twice a week

Reef Chili: target feeding once a week

MAINTENANCE

- Water Changes: 15-25% bi-weekly

- Evaporation Control: RO/DI manually

- Cleaning: Bi-Weekly sand bed vacuuming, live rock blasting with a turkey baster. Break down/cleaning of return pump, heater, powerhead every other month.

POSSIBLE UPGRADES

Aqueon 600 to replace stock pump Was too loud, going to try to 'break it in'

- Hydor Rotating Deflector Unless the Aqueon Quiets down I will not use this (would decrease stock flow too much)

- Lighting (either Current USA Oribt or TrueLumen Aquatic LED Strips as an addition) Nanobox Tide Plus M

- Hydor 240 / Hydor 180 / Jebao SW-2 / MP10 (dreaming) Went with the Jebao SW-2, it's awesome

Custom built media basket (egg crates) Went with the inTank model as it is really clean looking and I was lazy