ReefCleaners.org

New to the hobby!

Jkups

Hi! My name is John and I'm new to reef keeping and nano-reef!

I've kept freshwater tanks for around 15 years now and recently decided it's time to try something new. I've been glued to tank journals here for a few months now, and have been researching the hobby as much as I can (I'm pretty prone to analysis-paralysis).

Last weekend, I decided to pull the trigger on a IM Nuvo Fusion 25 Lagoon, along with most of the equipment and accessories I'll need (totally splurged with the President's Day sales). Planning on starting a mixed reef. So far I've gotten:

AI Hydra TwentySix with hanging kit

Tunze Osmolator Nano 3152 ATO

Sicce 1.5 return pump

Koralia Nano Powerhead (565 GPH) - (looking to upgrade to Ecotech MP10 eventually)

100W Neo-Therm Heater

2 IM CustomCaddy 2.0 Media Baskets

BRS DIY Screen top kit

BRS 6 stage RODI - 75GPD

20 lb Caribsea Arag-Alive Special Grade sand

30 lb dry rock from Reef Cleaners

160g bucket of Instant Ocean Reef Crystals

Planning on adding equipment/upgrading as needed as I progress in the hobby. Will be keeping more advanced filtration like skimmers and reactors as well as things like auto-dosing in mind for later (trying to start out with as simple a setup as practical).

For the mean time, I still need to look into filter media (planning on floss and carbon), bacterial additives (to boost the cycle), along with other miscellaneous equipment/accessories. If anyone has any recommendations for these or for anything else that I haven't mentioned, please let me know! I'd also greatly appreciate any advice, as well as articles anyone may have.

Anyway, I just wanted to introduce myself. I should be able to start cycling the new tank in the next week or so. I'd like to start my own tank journal for it if there's enough interest. Looking forward to meeting and getting to know other fellow hobbyists!

Hi John! And :welcome: