Innovative Marine Aquariums

Nano Suggestions

Hirsh

Hello all, this is my first post in the forum. I have been without a tank for about 5 years now and have decided that it is time to ease my way back into the hobby. The idea of a mini reef really intrigues me, especially since i paint miniatures for a living. I used to run a 130 gal system with LPS and Softies in it with an array of fish. I think a nano reef may help me satisfy my reef craving and be a fun way to teach my kids about the ocean. 

Heres my plan: I want to use my Top Fin five gallon AIO. Right now it is occupied by a goldfish, but he will be getting relocated soon. The tank has a media area, pump and LED lights. Anyone ever did a build from one of these tanks? I'm planning on removing the sump area and using an Aquaclear 30 for filtration with media in it. Will also add a powerhead to the tank. Also, I plan on upgrading the LEDs but need some ideas on what to get. When I got out of the hobby, these were just going main stream. 

As far livestock, ill just have a clown or two, LPS and eventually would love to get some SPS for the tank. Let me know what kind of equipment you think would work well for my build. I like simplicity and would like to keep the build under $150. Yeah, yeah, i know in this hobby thats a tiny budget, but its part of the challenge with this build. Last go around, i wasted so much money on things i "thought" i needed. Thank you all and thanks for having me in your community.

One more thing, Is it true that there are products now that will instantly cycle your tank?

RIP Sebastian
12 minutes ago, Hirsh said: