Cultivated Reef

Hole in clam?

Shark Fighter

Shark Fighter

I am still fairly new to keeping clams, my first and only clam is a Tridacna Derasa I've had for just a month and a half now. It has been doing very well all this time until this morning when I noticed it seemed a bit more closed than usual. Taking a closer look I noticed what appears to be a hole near the hinge directly behind the mouth. I can look into it's mouth and see straight through to the other side with light shining through. Is it ok? I've never noticed the hole before and I'm worried one of my crabs might have had a go at it.

IMG_0293_1.jpg

Shark Fighter

No, it used to be pointed upward at a 45 degree angle. Come to think of it this morning I removed a pair of urchins from my tank because they kept knocking my frags over, and one of them was on the rock directly behind the clam. I must have inadvertently bumped the rock and pushed him forwards enough to pop the byssal threads loose.

Is there anything I can do to help him? He does seem stressed and I'm worried about him being able to feed with such a large hole.

No, it used to be pointed upward at a 45 degree angle. Come to think of it this morning I removed a pair of urchins from my tank because they kept knocking my frags over, and one of them was on the rock directly behind the clam. I must have inadvertently bumped the rock and pushed him forwards enough to pop the byssal threads loose.

Is there anything I can do to help him? He does seem stressed and I'm worried about him being able to feed with such a large hole.

once his foot is attached I don't think a urchin could knock it over I could be wrong. I know any I've owned once they grabbed hold they held on hard. I think the falling over and release of the foot lays with the whole in the clam just not doing good.