ReefCleaners.org

Alkalinity is consumed VERY fast

ReefSafeSolutions

ReefSafeSolutions

My alkalinity is consumed rapidly. I've always had a hard time keeping it at the right level so I finally got some Kalkwasser to maintain it. So I've been working on getting my Ca and Alk to the right levels before I start using it. My Ca is fine, probably between 450-500. A little high, I know. But my Alk...well, yesterday, I dosed and got it up to 8.7 (measured at 9:30am). This morning, I measured again, at 9:30, and my Alk is down to 7. It's consumed faster than the recommend safe dosing amount per day of 1.4!

Is that normal? I've got several LPS colonies, mainly Euphyllia. So you can understand my need to have consistent Alk. I'll admit, I'm a lazy reefer...I've been doing this for a few years but am only now getting into daily dosing. Better late than never.

I suppose I'll get my Alk up to around 9 or 10 and then switch my ATO water to Kalk. I've got a database somewhere of how often my ATO turns on and for how long, so I can roughly estimate how much Kalk I'll need to add.

What's magnesium sitting at?

Also, the 1.4dKH limit is supposed to be spread out over 24 hours; it's not the amount you can add at once.

The tank can use as much alk as it wants, and you can dose throughout the day according to usage, then incorporate a little extra (still throughout the day) so that by the end of the day, 'alk added' is 1dKH more than 'alk used'.

I would simply switch away from kalk and just use 2 part with 2 dosing pumps. This way you can increase your alk dose without having to worry about Ca going through the roof. A bit more complicated and work but I find it easier in the long run.

I don't like your plan, and I don't like your target Alk. :)