Top Shelf Aquatics

SeaFurn's Reef Bowl

SeaFurn

I'm new to NR but have been lurking as a guest for awhile. I had a reef tank a long long time ago and I've been wanting to get back in the hobby. Natalia_la-loca’s reef bowl has sucked me in again! I am completely mesmerized by it and what she’s been able to do with it! It's so colorful and vibrant and she (along with the help of many of you) have come up with some pretty creative solutions when challenges came up. I've also enjoyed many of the other nano and pico tank threads on the site and this month's TOTM is out of this world.

Rather than recreate the wheel, my plan is to use hers as a guide for my own reef bowl with the hope of getting it stable and looking half as good in the future! My LFS thinks I’m crazy (which makes all of you crazy as well) and doesn’t recommend anything less than 20G. Ha!

So here’s the start to a build thread. Hope you’ll follow along.

FBS - 1/14/17

IMG_8396.JPGIMG_8389.JPG

Reef bowl - from Home Goods. Slightly more than 3G with nothing in it. I suspect it will hold around 2G when sand and rock are in.

I’m also going to use an ABi 12W PAR38 Tuna Blue bulb. I wasn’t sure the more expensive Coral Compulsion bulbs were worth it.

Up until yesterday I was having trouble finding a fixture that would put it at the right height (15”-16”) above the bowl. That changed when I went into my teenage son’s room (which I try to avoid as much as possible) and saw the IKEA floor lamp he was using next to his bed for reading. It’s perfect. I didn’t even realize he had it and so I snagged it!