SaltCritters.com

Greg's First Reef Journal (Red Sea Max Nano 20g/70L)

Lawlboom

Hello Everyone,

A little background before I get into it. I've been keeping fish for almost three years now. I had some heart trouble and needed surgery. I ended up being out of work for about a month and a half waiting for surgery and recovery time. During which, I discovered James Findley and his nature aquariums on youtube. That's when the addiction took in. I've kept planted tanks, Malawi Africans, discus, you name it I've probably done it. I recently moved from PA to VA and gave away most of my fish. Started anew in my new city.

IMG_0712.jpg

16.5G Display with 3.5g Sump

AI prime HD led light

10lbs 'cured' Fiji rock

7lbs 'almost cured' fiji rock

3lbs tonga branch

20lbs of carb sea Arag-Alive Reef Sand

No heater yet, likely will purchase one later today.

Paramters as of now:

Salinity is showing 1.026 ( I bought 19 gallons from the LFS )

Temperature stays at 75F during the day, 74.5 at night.

Dosing Seachem Stability as per directions

Only thing I care about right now is:

IMG_0711.jpg

Annnd now we wait.

Combination of Live Rock, Live Sand, and Bottled Bacteria I've cycled. I had to improvise a lid due to a very curious cat. Just some lightning diffuser I used to use as a divider when I was trying to breed my midas.

Added a Koralia 425.

IMG_0725.jpg

• Like 1

I made my first rookie mistake. I noticed that my skimmer's collection cup was full of water. I believed there was something wrong with it so I just dumped the cup down the sump. An ammonia spike followed and I wasn't testing nitrates. Habit from freshwater I only check my nitrates on those tanks once a month. I was only testing Ammonia and Nitrite.

Ammonia .25

Nitrite 0

Nitrate 20

I did about a 3gallon water change before bed.

I've since did more reading on skimmers, I didn't really even know they had to be 'tuned in'.