SaltCritters.com

ARC "Atlantic Reef Conservation" Live Rock

CaptJab

Do any of you have experience with this rock? The rock is mined on land and left in the Atlantic for 2 years or more for the premium rock, 1-2 years for basic rock.

They claim to have lower phosphate and nitrate levels than true live rock. I wonder how their pest are, more or less than Fiji or other natural live rock, also does it filter as good as true live rock.

• Like 1

With that particular company? No, I have no experience.

However, I've had Florida live rock before.

It's gonna have a lot more hitchhikers, some good, some bad. It'll filter as good as any other live rock.

So if I'm understanding you correctly this would be classified as "uncured" live rock. So it will likely have many hitch hikers, some good and some bad. It will likely be difficult to go through all of them so you will have to deal with them as they're discovered.

I can't really comment on phosphate levels but no rock that I'm aware of is completely free of phosphate... I'm not aware of any other types of LR that make such a claim other than possibly reefcleaners which is supposed to go through a phosphate reducing process.

Did you have Florida live rock from the Gulf or Atlantic?

It was Gulf rock.

So if I'm understanding you correctly this would be classified as "uncured" live rock. So it will likely have many hitch hikers, some good and some bad. It will likely be difficult to go through all of them so you will have to deal with them as they're discovered.

I can't really comment on phosphate levels but no rock that I'm aware of is completely free of phosphate... I'm not aware of any other types of LR that make such a claim other than possibly reefcleaners which is supposed to go through a phosphate reducing process.

I'm not sure what John does to rock to reduce phosphates... Perhaps he just cleans the crap out of them?

Here is what it says on the site.