Top Shelf Aquatics

DIY Nano Chiller using a 6L esky.

OzHobbyReefer

OzHobbyReefer

Hi Guys,

I'm fairly new to the saltwater hobby but thought I'd dive strait in and start a nano tank. Due to my location (central Queensland coast in Australia) I also required a chiller as it gets very hot and humid here.

After doing plenty of research and reading there didn't seem to be any viable options for nano chillers at a "reasonable" price. Being a DIY kinda guy I thought why not take a shot at building one using everyone else's experience. I may even get lucky and make something that works better for my needs then something off the shelf, although it wouldn't look as fancy.

I always had the mind set during this build that it may not work and if it didn't no worries, I'd make up a plane 'B'.

This is a closed loop system just like a production chiller, the aquarium water is plumbed into a coiled 12mm hose within the esky and then back out into the aquarium. The esky is filled with clean water which is cooled by the peltier unit and in turn cools the aquarium water getting pumped through it. The water temp in the esky should stay quite stable due to the insulation meaning the chiller shouldn't have to cycle on/off very quickly which will be less wear and tear on the peltier unit.

All up this build cost a little over $100 AUD mainly because I bought a new esky (very pricey) and a good quality CPU cooler.

Any way enough gas bagging, here is the chiller. Feel free to ask any questions and I'll keep you updated as to how it performs.

This is the Chilling unit made from a CPU cooler, 65w Peltier unit and a copper heatsink on the cold side. The power supply is a 240v to 12v 6amp ebay job.

27966253613_f9488078c3_c.jpg1.

These next photos show the chiller unit mounted on a 6L esky with fittings for the hoses.

27964575944_4ef226a929_c.jpg

27964599414_c2ee03fb9e_c.jpg

As you can see the copper heat sink sits under the lid and is submerged in the water.