SaltCritters.com

Setting up 12 gal nano......??'s

seashellshelly

seashellshelly

Okay, I just got my 12 gal nano cube and I need a little direction on set-up. I removed the bio-balls, ceramic rings, and sponges from the back. I am planning to use live rock rubble in the back and also the charcoal that came with the tank. Sound okay so far?

1) There are 4 compartments in the back of the tank. Which compartment should hold the live rock and which should hold the charcoal.

2) Where should I place the heater? I'm wanting to place it in the back compartments.

3) Do I need to add a small powerhead? If so, would this go in the front?

4) Where is a good place to order LR online??

5) If I'm using RO water, the only additive I need is salt mix correct?

Thanks

Shelly

Hi i'm using a nano cube as well but i'm pretty new to this whole reef thing myself.

Answer to your question base on what i use:

1. I use the first 2 compartments for live rock, and the third compartments for charcoal.

2. You can place the heater on the back compartment, but i don't use one i find that the light and the powerhead generate more then enough heat. or i should say more heat then needed.

3. I place and extra powerhead so that the current is pushing the opposite direction of the stock powerhead. Some people do mod and drill hole to place powerhead at the back compartment.

4. Never got anything online sorry can't help you here

5. Yeah pretty much you don't need any additive but then again some people would debate on this topic. Just make sure you mix the salt with the water before placing it in the tank. =P

Hope that help but you should double check with other people after all my tank is only heading toward 3 month old.

As far as what to do, everyone will have their own opinion. Heck, some just go all stock and have great results. But her eis what I did and have seen great things thus far.

First removed all media, including charcoal