My new clam

pos_user

just wanted to show you guys. I got him a few days ago - he is under 2x65 10k/Act 03. I wanted to get him now to get used to semi decent light, before i upgrade to MH 250 in about a week or 2. I didnt want to just throw him into MH lights without giving him a chance to get some decent wattage now. Too much too fast is not good for anything in your tank.

How big does what get ? The clam ?

Maximas can get huge - over 5 inches if they are in the correct environment. But i could be wrong.

The one i have now is only about 2 inches long. a baby.

maxima's can grow to 30-40 centimeters.rock,maxima's need high light and calcium,smaller ones need to be fed phyto plankton every week.I would suggest a hippo. 72w are good enough for them

yeah if i get a light it's going to be more than that much! Just thougt i'd ask! pos_user congrats to the new born!lol! Yeah i would like to get one, but its going to be a long time! I'm still a noob, so i want to know alot more about other corals before i get into one of those!!!! I've read alot, I'm on almost every night reading threads and web sites, but i still can learn alot more before i'm expereanced enough(i think ) to get one of those!

thats good rock - a lot of reading will pay off in this hobby.

right now i have 120w over my 20h and the baby clam is high up on the tank - i feed him DT's plankton 4 times a week, and will be upgrading to 250w hqi 20k soon. Cant wait to get that beast!!

The clam should be ok though, as long as he is consuming the plankton he should be ok. My water levels are good for him, with clams you need a small amount of trates...and I'm at about 10-15ppm.

The clam is cool as hell, he can see my every move - he seems very alert...he retracts slightly when i come the tank. that is a good sign...I think im gonna start up a Clam tank - 20L with 2 250w MH.

Talk about emptying the wallet !

hey X, where ya been buddy ?