ReefCleaners.org

Prepping for 75 gal

Draco

In a few months, I will be upgrading from my JBJ 28 gal cube to a 75 gal tank. While I am not a reef newbie- all I ever had were nanos. a larger tank seems a bit intimdating!

Can someone go over my checklist and tell me if I am missing anything? I was bored and decided to plan, and see if I can pick up some items for good deals along the way.

To Get:

75 Gal Reef-Ready Aquarium with Overflow

Stand

30 lbs Sand (1 inch shallow sandbed)

60-70lbs LR

Sump to be built- size pending on stand (min. 20 gal)

Light- need to research for most corals and nem.

Heater

Optional Items:

Doser

Controller

Already Have:

Aquamaxx HOB Skimmer to put in sump

Refractometer

Test Kits

RO/DI Filter

2 Nano Powerheads (need larger sizes?)

Timer

Salt

variety of supplements

Heater rated for 30 gal

About 15 lbs LR in 28 gal

To Get From Friend:

Two Little Fishies Reactor

Dry LR

PENDING FISH STOCK IDEAS:

2 Clowns (Currently have in 28 nano)

Six-Line Wrasse (currently have in 28 nano)

Kole Tang (Add last)

Midas Blenny

Blue Spot Goby

2 or 3 Blue/Green or Lemon Chromis

Rock Boring Urchin (currently have in 28 nano)

Current Coral Stock

(need lighting ideas to support all corals, including bubble tip anenome):

2 Duncans (4-6 heads each)

Large Zoa Colonies

Mushrooms

Galaxia

Acan

2 Frogspawn frags

Elizabeth94

I would say you may need more powerheads, I cant imagine two nanos keeping up.

Great choice on the skimmer! I hear that 20L's make good sumps, but I m not sure if that would be too smallbfor this tank. Can a 40 breeder fit under there?

Your coral list doesnt have anything that demands too much light, but since it is a larger tank, you may need multiple light fixtures. Unless your budget would allow for a 48" T5 fixture

thanks!

I want to get better lighting to host a nem at least. I have no idea what to look at, lol.

thanks for the powerhead avice, I will upgrade those too