Pod Your Reef

Marineland Portrait/Contour Owners Thread

petolo

Thought I'd start a thread for people who own these tanks to discuss likes/dislikes, modifications, upgrades and the like.

Personally I'm running a stock 5 gallon portrait with one AI Prime, you can see pics in my build thread. I've been considering changing the filtration since I think small particles make it through the sides of the slide in assembly and collect on the bottom becoming a breeding ground for ammonia, has anyone done this?

• 2 years later...

I have a  marineland portrait that I started about a month ago. It is still cycling. I would love ideas!  I would like to upgrade the pump and the light . 

• Like 1
  • 3 months later...

Hi everyone- Not only am I a newbie to nano tanks but I'm also a newbie to saltwater aquariums. I know, I know, probably not the smartest thing to start with a nano but due to space and time this is what I decided worked best for me. Plus- I love challenges.

Here's what I have/running:

• Marineland Portrait 5 gallon tank
  • Fluval Sea Marine Nano bluetooth lighting
  • upgraded pump to - VicTsing 80 GPH pump
  • Hydor 50W Submersible Heater
  • Hydor Flo Rotating Water Deflector Attachment
  • Nature's Ocean Live Sand
  • 4-5lb Dry Live rock
  • Using filter floss and Chemi-Pure Blue Nano packets
  • Stocked with: Ocellaris Clownfish, Yellow Rose Goby, and one Nerite snails.

My tank has been up and running since October/November. I kick started the cycle with a dead shrimp and after cycling for a few months my levels are great. I decided to wait for fish until after Christmas due to out of town vacations. But now that I'm back the tank has gotten two new residents- Edna and Irene.  Letting them settle in for a while before adding some corals.

• Like 1
NuisanceAlgaeCultivator
45 minutes ago, LunaBug81 said: