SaltCritters.com

Making China LED Bluefish Compatible

Exquitas

Hello,

So I've got some basic electronic knowledge but just to be sure I would like to ask if I could make the following LED unit Bluefish dimmable.

Currently the unit gets controlled by two potentiometers (2 channels, 3pin connection on the potentiometer).

My question:

Is it possible to detach the 3-pin Molex connector from the potentiometer and use those connectors to dim the unit with the Bluefish controller?

Many thanks in advance for any help :)

51rPVW2KW6L.jpg

71WnwZbfQSL._SL1500_.jpg

jedimasterben

The short answer is possibly.

The long answer is you'll need to disassemble the unit and take a look at how it actually dims - just having potentiometers doesn't always mean that it dims via resistance only ;)

You will need relays to cut power to the drivers no matter what.

*sigh* why can't things just be simple once ...

Well, after I've finished work, I'll take some pictures of the units interior and then I'm gonna definitly need some help :D

I would start with identifying the potentiometer, then probe around with a multimeter to see what the max and min voltage/current the potentiometer supplies? I believe as long as you can mimic the range of power going through the potentiometers you should be fine. I don't have a bluefish but I assume it uses PWM to control a MOSFET?

I've found some Info on the drivers:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/b03s3djrw83cjq3/Bildschirmfoto%202016-03-27%20um%2010.12.36.png?dl=0

https://www.dropbox.com/s/tmpsqrab91lipun/Bildschirmfoto%202016-03-27%20um%2010.12.51.png?dl=0

https://www.dropbox.com/s/gnrfox6u5onsprz/Bildschirmfoto%202016-03-27%20um%2010.15.18.png?dl=0

Apparently it's possible to dim the leds with these drivers via PWM or Analog.