Coral Vue Hydros

DIY Skimmer - Need Some Help With Principles

chipmunkofdoom2

chipmunkofdoom2

Hi all. I currently have a 10g standard tank and I'm thinking about DIYing a protein skimmer. I originally wasn't going to go with a skimmer because of space and budget constrains.. I figured if it got to the point where I needed one, I would get a sump because most effective skimmers require one. After some research, however, it seems that airstone driven skimmers are still very relevant in the nano space and that many DIYs based off of the Mame skimmer are quite effective. So now, need or no need, I'm sort of wanting to build one just for the heck of it, as a fun DIY project. But, I've never built a skimmer before, so I have a few questions.

Here is my proposed design. It is also loosely based on the Mame skimmer, but I plan on making it out of some spare acrylic tube I have laying around.

skimmer.jpg

My two basic questions are this: first, I plan on capping off the top with a rubber stopper. Does this have to be air tight? For instance, if I drill it in order to run some airline tubing through it and the fit is not airtight, does that somehow affect the operation of the skimmer?

Two, my skimmer is probably going to be made out of one piece of tubing to keep complexity and cost low. I notice most skimmers sort of taper off toward the end when they get to the collection chamber. Is there any practical reason for this? Will the skimmer still produce good skimmate even if it's the same diameter all the way up?

Thanks in advance for any help that you guys can give. Please let me know if there are any other concerns you guys spot with my design.

Thanks again!

gulfsurfer101

It will produce skimmate but if your seal is not air tight you can expect a mess. The skimmate will push through and out wherever it can. A bit of silicone should keep everything air tight though!

chipmunkofdoom2