inTank Media Baskets

real sea water..

mineralrock

mineralrock

I didn't feel like going further down the road than petco to get RO water....so I just bought their "real ocean" sea water. What's the deal with this stuff.....salinity/trace elements etc?

That water is trash. It smells really bad and had negative effects on my tank. I used that stuff for about six months and was wondering why I had so many algae problems, corals looked bad, heck everything looked unhealthy. I switched to Oceanic Salt and started to mix my own again and now the tank is as healthy as any nanoreefer would ever want. Save yourself the heartache, mix your own salt and drive the extra distance.

I've been using Catalina water for about 4 months and everything looks really great. It doesn't smell bad at all...I get it from a lfs that has a huge holding tank of it so maybe it is better than the stuff sitting on the shelf at Petco.

OOOO nm mineralrock, are you talking about the bagged up boxes of real sea water that petco sells? Never used it before, it seems WAY overpriced.

Been using it for 5 months......all the way up hear in P'land.....no algae, no smell.....perfect results!

You need to check the SG cuz' it can fluctuate from batch to batch.

schaferfred

Been using Catalina Ocean water as well for last 3 months and I think it is absolutely great. My tank has no fishy smell, my fish seem to be doing great, and as for algae ???????? what algae? Salinity seems to stay right at 1.025 to 1.026. I would recommend it to anyone with a nano just because of it's ease of use but it's quality seems to be awesome as well. I mean, hell, it's real purified ocean water, you can't beat that.

myfisharemean