Coral Vue Hydros

partial water changes

maxximo

Hi

I'm new in this matter. I did a partial water changed but it was a dissater... I lost my percula fish and many polips... Can you please help me describing the right procedure to do partial water changes.

Thanks

Take out X gallons of water and replace it with X gallons of freshly mixed saltwater of the same SG, temperature, and pH. Its pretty much that simple.

Cheers,

Fred

holyherbiness

FAC_WNY, people often say that you must let mixed saltwater sit for a period of time (24 hours, well aerated+mixed) before putting it into the tank to stabilize it.

What I do:

5% change at a time and drip the new water in slowly over a 30 minute period.

If 10%, I'll add back in 5% as above, and take about an hour for the second 5% to be added (if not the next day). My tank runs fine with 95% water capacity.

With this method, I don't even have to worry about the water temp and my inhabitants are never shocked. The SG can even be off slightly. I just keep my eye on the themometer to make sure no dips occur. If I see a slight drop, I'll just slow down the drip.

Originally posted by bill_m3

What I do:

If 10%, I'll add back in 5% as above, and take about an hour for the second 5% to be added (if not the next day).  My tank runs fine with 95% water capacity.  

With this method, I don't even have to worry about the water temp and my inhabitants are never shocked.  The SG can even be off slightly.  I just keep my eye on the themometer to make sure no dips occur.  If I see a slight drop, I'll just slow down the drip.

I'm not sure I understood what you said. Are you saying you take out 5 percent of the water, drip in the new water till its full, then take out another five percent? It seems that if you do it that way, you are removing some of the dissolved nutrients of the new water you just put in, and arent taking out as much "old water" as you could.