Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Mushroom fell off frag plug

aaron186

I am new to SW. I just bought a ricordea mushroom frag. When I opened the bag from the LFS the mushroom had broken off. I called the LFS and they said to rubber band it to a small rock. I tried this and it looked like it was too tight on the shroom. It is now floating around loose in my tank on the bottom. Any suggestions how to save it?

Marc.The.Shark

put some LR rubble in the bottom of a shot glass & put the mushroom in there. Place it in an area out of direct flow so that it won't blow out of shot glass. Wait a few days to a week & it'll attach to the rubble, then glue wherever you want. If you don't have a low flow area, then rubber band some screen around top of shot glass.

Marc.The.Shark

no, that'll work. Might make the mushroom split. I've always had a hard time with that method tho.

Edit: you can't kill those mushrooms, they multiply like crazy. I've heard of people putting regular ones in the blender & still live, must have had a hundred after that! lol. People use to frag them by cutting with a knife like a pizza across the mouth so every frag has a piece of the mouth. Not many people do that anymore, they multiply fast enuf already.

does the orientation of the mushroom on the rock matter? i can't quite seem to figure out which was was the top and bottom... it seems to have color on all sides

Marc.The.Shark

Yeah, you want the base on the rock so it attaches. They're kinda slimy & hard to work with, that's why i said i never liked that method. Just leave it alone for a day or two and see what it looks like once you rubberband it. Or stop at your LFS & pick up a small piece of LR and hit it with a hammer & make some rubble & use the shot glass method. I always keep some rubble around to mount frags, looks better than frag plugs.