ReefCleaners.org

The 2.5 Project... (time Documented With Pic)

samwoo2go

I just purchased a 2.5g tank from Petco for $10, and it is gonna be my first attempt at a nano-reef... :) im going to document every step with pics here. Please feel free to give me any advice along my process, because im a newbie at reefing and nanoreefing...

Enjoy.... ;)

I just got the tank and painted the back black for a cleaner look...

919721-med.jpg

• Replies 85
  • Created
  • Last Reply

sam,

People benefit so much from photo journals like the one you have begun. I hope you have the patience to document the whole thing. Good luck!!

Thanks all, I wanted to do this because the only reason I even wanted to start a nano-reef was because I saw a couple of other members' photo journals such as this one.

I hope if some other people saw my project, they would want to start a nano-reef too, and therefore expand our hobby... :)

ok, I just got my filtration in... :woot: It's a Penguin mini filter w/bio-wheel. I will leave the bio-wheel in for filtration... I know they are nitrate factories, but they also do an outstanding job at removing ammonina, and nitrite... :) and since I'll be doing a 1%-2% water change everyday, yes, EVERYDAY with water from one of my bigger tanks, and a 10% fresh SW on every Sunday, I think I'll be alright... ;)

here is the filter on the tank, it actually fits perfect... (the length of the intake, and the height off the tank)

919719-med.jpg

Ok just got the lighting parts in today for the 20W retro PC lighting.

PARTS:

• Rubber Incadescent Fixture
  • Plumbing U-Clam
  • Rotary Switch
  • 2 Hard Plastic Spacers
  • 2 screws
  • Coralife 50/50 20W Incadescent PC bulb
  • Goop Household Glue
  • Extension Cord
  • small mirror (reflector;) )

919718-med.jpg

I have a 2.5 gallon tank and I started off doing small, daily water changes but I've since discovered that my tank seems to do better with larger, weekly water changes. Just my 2 cents. Good luck!