Top Shelf Aquatics

Help, I'm a newbie!!

BrianKeil

I just entered the hobby!! A year ago I tried my hand at keeping a porcupine puffer, but had to get rid of him when I left for college. Now I'm trying a Nano-reef.. I started off with a 5 gal. tank and added a glass cover and a 20 gal biowheel filter, added a 25watt visitherm deluxe. I used a 2 gallon refractor and a mini compact fuorescent 50/50 10 watt bulb. Also, I fit a strip of 6 Led into my refractor, which is coated with reflective tape on the inside. The tank has about 2 lbs of LS and about 8-9 lbs of live rock. I have had the tank running for only a month!!! The live stock includes, 1 perc. clown, 1 white sand star, 1 emerald crab(a stowaway on my live rock!).. The one piece of live rock has feather dusters and zoos all over it(bought that way at 4.99 a lb!!!!) I also have a cutting of Ricordea, red mushroom and chlostrea. All of my water levels are amazing!! My question is do I have to much in the tank?, what types of corals should I go with next? Is my light ok? Everything is thriving, but I worry I did something wrong.. Any help or comments would be awesome!

Thanx!!! Thats kinda what I was thinking, not enough light... Will a 20 watt be ok into the refractor I have??? I've been using a 10 watt?

I don't know... it's probably rated for what, 15 watts (it should say on it somewhere)? If so, you might want to drill out some additional venting holes in the back for 20.

Ok, I ordered the 20 Watt.. My hood says not to use anything higher than 15... I am going to drill a lot of holes into it to vent and also remove the white plastic thing (tech term) around the bulb presently. Now I just have to figure out a way to transport my tank to college (1 hour drive) The fun never stops ;) Any ideas of what to put in next? I was thinking maybe pulsing xenia(is that the name?)