Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

help on choosing coral

booboo

Hey i m not starting a 50 gallon tank and i m into corals. But im a complete beginner and want to know what are are some hardy relativley easy (even though nothing is besides dead stuff) to care for corals. I like flashy and colorful. What are some colorful shrooms.

As for lighting i m most likley going to have a canopy with my custom insides. I m looking into(excuse my strange explaing) setting up 4-6 swirly energy savr bulbs each about 1700 lumens and to retro fit kits 10k pc and an actinic with a fan or two for cooling will this be enough light. Looking for cheap but worthy retro fit kits 46.5 inch to 48 inch suggestions.

hmmmm if i were you i wouldnt get those swirly bulbs

you only really want to get those if you have no other choice as in thats the only thing that will fit like in 3gallon tanks or what not

but as for a 50 gallon im guessing its 4' from your 46.5' to 48" so i would say go with a 250w SE MH with some actinic pc's

you may wanna try hellolights.com

they usually have cheap stuff or you could always go check out ebay

i bought my MH's and VHO's from them and my PC's from champion lighting

but if you go this route you wont have to upgrade when you want to go to the better corals (SPS, Clams, etc) cause you eventually will :)

good luck

mike