inTank Media Baskets

Sand Bed Depth?

sweevo

Just wondered how deep a sand bed you can realisitically have in a tank before you run the risk of encountering DSB issues? I've looked into DSB's a lot these last few days and have decided to abandon my plas for one and just have a few inches of Arag Alive in the bottom of my tank.

Is it a simple case of the deeper the bed the more the risks?

Could a 2"-3" Arag Alive sandbed give me problems a year or two down the line? Should I just stick to around 1.5" or less to be safe or am I being over cautious?

The tank in question will be a 29G with a surface area 30" x 12" and will eventually stock a pair of clowns, various soft corals, snails and red legged hermits.

All opinions gratefully recieved. :)

My major issue with sandbeds is that detritus can and always will collect on them...its just that simple, no matter the depth. If you don't have enough in-fauna to deal with that detritus (which is very hard to have in a nano), its going to accumulate and "bite you in the ass" so to speak, in the future. For this reason, I like to run my tanks bare-bottom or with a very light layer of crushed coral (old Berlin method style). That way you can: 1) point flow directly at the bottom of the tank and hopefully keep detitus suspended in the water column where it can be skimmed or eaten by corals, 2) vacuum the bare-bottom/CC if too much detritus is accumulating there.

Of course, running a tank like this also has its own detriments...the most obvious being that you can't really keep any sand-dwelling or sifting organisms..lol. But we all make trade-offs.