SaltCritters.com

Clown Fish Died in 2 Hours

Chuck4

So I'm new to this, I have a 5 gallon tank that I started up April 1st, I have tested the water pretty much every day since then and graphed it. It appears my tank has been cycled for some time, 3 weeks ago I put 3 hermit crabs in there and they are doing fine. Today I added a clown fish, it was fine for about 20 minutes before it started trying to jump out of the tank, then sank to the sand and laid on it side eventually dying all in a span of 2 hours. I had zeros across the board this morning when I checked my water. What could have caused this?

I have ~3 lbs of live rock and about 3" of sand in the tank

Also attached a pic of my graph, X- Axis starts on March 29th.

post-88095-0-51316000-1431551447_thumb.jpg

• Like 1
HarryPotter

Do you have a picture of the tank?

To me it sounds like you did not acclimate the clown at all, so it was immediately shocked by the parameter change and died. Did you acclimate/do you know what acclimation is?

if you didnt acclimate it that is the reason.

This happened to me with many pairs of clowns from different shops. no idea, the longest they lasted was 12 hours. i waited 3 months of my tank with no clowns in case it was a disease. 3 months on no problem. clowns went in fine.

I thought I had, I replaced about 25% of the water in the bag with my tank water and let it float for about 30 minutes in the tank before adding him in. Did I screw this up?

No that's not a bad acclimation routine for fish.

Can you give us more detail on your setup, might be lack of dissolved oxygen in the water.

HarryPotter

I also had the lights on when I did it, I think I just shocked him to death which sucks after reading the above link.

Bummer, Im sorry for your loss. In the future, try to check every livestock purchase either on LiveAquaria or here on Nano-Reef.

• Like 1