inTank Media Baskets

Marine pure

edraniam

It seems to be for fresh water however I know it is often used in frag tanks since it allows bio filter and things that anchor to it are easily removed

I am testing a gallon of the balls in a system now.

It uses an upflow current to minimize detritus collection.

And I stir them about once a week.

I dont expect results soon, my desired fuction of them is to grow bacteria for the final stage of denitrification.

I am growing crap film algae(brown glass algae) much slower since Ive added them. I dont think the bacteria colonies are mature, yet.

Ive been using the plates in my BC8 for a couple months. Have a piece on the 1st level and 3rd level of my media tray in the second chamber. Seems to be working well. Can't say there has been any adverse reaction and levels, although not tested regularly anymore, seem to remain on the low end. Not a miracle, but not hurtful either.

• 4 weeks later...

We use the stuff down here in Australia a lot. It's awesome stuff! Every person I know who has ever used it preaches it. Excellent filtration capabilities. I've heard of frag tubs that just use a few gallons of the spheres covering the bottom in at least 6" depth with good flow as the sole source of filtration growing perfect frags with amazing water quality. I use the spheres and can't recommend them enough.

• 2 weeks later...

i was having huge cyno problems i tried a bunch of things finally i added 2 quarts of the balls to my sump left them for about a month and a half then took out all my live rock and sand ditched the sand and cleaned the live rock with bleach then vinegar then ro/di. i got lazy and haven't put the rock back in. the tank has been running for probably 3 months now with just the marine pure and frag racks. no new cyno no green algea and nitrates reading zero. i think it's a great product.

freemandnj973