Pod Your Reef

Thoughts on AquaTop 21G Nano?

kimberbee

I'm new to saltwater aquariums but pretty familiar with freshwater, since my family had them when I was growing up.

I've decided to start my own nano tank with help from my boyfriend who has a nice 45G (~3 years old) and his job is servicing aquariums so he has tons of info.

I was just wondering if anyone had experience with AquaTop set ups. I originally wanted a 29G Oceanic BioCube, but they are pricey new ($400), and even on Craigslist (though there's only a couple listed in my area) the price only drops about $100.

Dr.s Foster & Smith is having a summer sale on Nano Cubes, and has a 24G for $220 which is a nice price.

http://www.drsfostersmith.com/product/prod_display.cfm?c=3578+3730+18534+18524&pcatid=18524

I found, at a LFS, an AquaTop 21G on sale for $240. It includes a protein skimmer, which I have read is not necessary, but I don't see how it could hurt and BF really suggests it.

http://www.truaqua.com/aquatop-biotope-stand-combo.html (just for specifications reference).

I'm leaning towards the AquaTop, because not only does it have the skimmer, but it has all LCD lights meaning I don't have to worry about switching out/upgrading any CFL bulbs.

Anyone want to chime in with recommendations?

Thanks so much!

thats a really good price, and with what it comes with (lights, skimmer...) you would spend a lot more if you were to put it together individually. only thing to keep in mind: this tank will be good for zoas, lps and softies. if you want to keep sps, the LEDs are not powerful enough - PAR reading is quite low even near the top of the tank.