Brian's Nuvo16

BrianCG

Hello!

This is my first post (moderators feel free to move if I have this in wrong location, thanks). After 30 years of freshwater tanks I decided to sell my monster big fresh tank and start a little saltwater tank. Loved the look of the Nuvo16 and lurked here enjoying what others have done with this setup. Tank is now 3 months old. I build sportscars for a living and keeping things STOCK is very much against my religion but the tank made it to 3 months totally stock...so now it is time to start playing!

First Mod...NEW TOP! I don't like the look of the glass top, don't like the salt desposits, and it makes it tough to keep temp from rising higher than I want.... so I started with cutting a piece of black eggcrate, love the look of the result and the tank runs cooler.

post-85159-0-45285200-1405131058_thumb.jpg

Second Mod...MORE FLOW. Read what many here did with pump upgrades and decided to try just that. Installed Sicce Syncra Silent 1.5. That moves us from stock 210 gph up to 358 gph. Together with the IM spinner outlets the flow is great now, and nicely randomized.

post-85159-0-74989700-1405131353_thumb.jpg

Third Mod...MORE LIGHT. The stock lights were just okay, and adding the eggcrate seriously cut the effectiveness of the stock lights. Found a used Edge 36w light bar for half the price of new, added it at the back and moved the stock 28 watts of light slightly forward. Tank now nicely and more evenly lit.

post-85159-0-25892600-1405131985_thumb.jpg

Livestock began with two clowns and various small coral frags. Had an Aptasia issue, I guess it came with the live rock, and eventually it started appearing everywhere....so I ordered up some Pepermint Shrimp. I had read here about various levels of success with this method, my three shrimp arrived HUNGRY and ate the dozen Aptasia in the tank in about two hours....so color me much impressed.

My centerpiece of livestock below.

post-85159-0-95951700-1405132676_thumb.jpg