Top Shelf Aquatics

New to Reef Hobby

Adamjlx

Hi guys,

I am converting to marine life from fresh water! Totally lost in terms of how or where I should start planning my reef tank. I am planning on getting a Mr. Aqua 17.1g aquarium. In terms of equipment, where should I start my journey?

Freshwater care is relatively straight forward and easy, but when I think of salt water, i'm thinking that there are much more mechanics to it. What kind of things would I need to be treating the water etc.? Or do I just mix marine salt with RO water and voila? Total noob. Any help would be appreciated :)

Thinking about also getting a Nano Box Light with the Mr. Aqua.

Also questioning on corals and fish both weigh in on the bioload?

Thanks for reading and replying to my noobie questions ;p

...Hi btw! :)

Welcome! I was in the same position as you a month ago. As for equipment you will need:

Tank, Light, Protein Skimmer, Heater, Sand, Rock, Powerhead(s), Thermometer, Refractometer, Other testing kits. Could be some other optional equipment

A GFCI outlet is pretty important as you probably already know.

As for treating water: Your rock acts as a filter but there are other popular forms of media additives (Carbon, GFO, chemipure, purigen, etc.) RO/DI is king, but distilled will work too. Mostly everyone will advise against tap.

Fish count towards bioload, corals not so much.

Edit: certain corals require varying levels of calcium, alk, and magnesium and dosers could be used to maintain these levels

Is a protein skimmer really required? I noticed some don't use one, also what is a 'Sump' ?

Some will argue a protein skimmer is not required. After seeing what comes out of the collection cup I opted in for one.

A sump is another tank (usually underneath the display) that is used as a filtration site. Essentially, water is taken out of the display tank, filters through the sumps channels, and is returned back to the display tank.