Top Shelf Aquatics

Dawn's coral pony corral!

vlangel

Hi, my name is Dawn and I love seahorses. I have always wanted to keep some but their specialized needs have caused me to hold off until I could work thru some of those issues. I think now with being able to acquire ponies that will eat frozen mysis along with coming up with a solution to meet their temperature needs, I am ready to build my corral.

Yesterday I went to my LFS and ordered a 30g XH tank and stand. I am hoping to get it in the oak trim but I know aqueon is slowly fazing out that color. I am an artist so if I must get black maybe I will paint the trim. I am planning to use a 2 bulb T5 fixture with maybe a supplemental LED strip light, as I plan to have photosynthetic gorgonians, soft corals and maybe even a sponge or two in the corral. If the height of the tank diffuses the light too much I may have to add stronger light.

Speaking of height, XH tanks can present a challenge to scape. The 30g XH is 24" high. For years I have entertained the thought of creating a tank with multi levels as this adds interest plus gets some corals closer to the light source. I will do this by siliconing 5" plexiglass partial walls to the bottom of the DT to make a box inside it and then filling that box with sand, (creating a remote DSB). The rest of the DT will only have 1" of sand.