inTank Media Baskets

20L LED DIY + Fixture Build! COMPLETE NOOB!

Jonnywhoop

Hey everyone, this 20L will be my first reef tank and I hope to go balls out and do it right from the get go. I want to purchase a DIY LED kit, create a fixture to hang it (ceiling or walls are not available), AC70 Fuge, with a koralia 425gph pump.

I plan to purchase RapidLED DIY 24 LED Kit.

http://www.rapidled.com/24-ultra-premium-led-diy-kit-with-dimmable-drivers/

6x10 Drilled Tapped Heat Sink (should I get the "as is" product?)

http://www.rapidled.com/drilled-tapped-6-x-10-black-anodized-aluminum-heat-sink/

Questions:

1) Is it necessary to purchase a fan, splashguard, or anything else to complete this setup?

2) Since I can substitute colors; what is the best color ratio to achieve a 14k-20k look? (I do not have any experience with reefs so I don't know what my "preference" is. I want to make the corals and fish pop, but give them the necessary lighting to grow.) I was thinking along the lines of: 10Blues, 8 Whites, 2 reds, 4 purple? Please correct me and offer better ratios for a 24LED kit!

3) Whats the best way to hang or mount this light? Can I use aluminum brackets to create a fixture? Should I hang it? Any links to simple methods of mounting a DIY kit?

4) How can I take full advantage of the dimming feature? I would like to have the ability to adjust my whites and blues seperately. I would also like the ability to create sunrise and sunset effects, how can I achieve this?

5) Is there anything else I should purchase from rapidLED or any other site to make this DIY build quicker and more efficient?

6) Any additional advice, comments, opinions, criticism?

I appreciate any help and guidance along this build. I would like to place an order soon from rapidLED as soon as I have my questions answered. THANK YOU!

EDIT