Innovative Marine Aquariums

Clownfish keep dying - what am I doing wrong?

potatowned

Hi All, I'm new to the hobby and have had my 20L set up for a little over 2 months. (About 9 weeks.)

My current parameters are all pretty stable, everything looks healthy and yet I've killed 3 clownfish and I feel absolutely horrible.

Parameters:

pH: 8.2-8.4

Nitrate: 10ppm

Temp: 77 degrees (I had it at 79 degrees, but lowered it to 77 upon recommendation from my LFS)

SG: 1.024 (lowered from 1.026)

Ca: 380 mg/L

dKH: 9

Here is what I currently have in the tank, which all seem to be doing well and growing:

- Several zoas

- Candy cane

- Torch

- Frogspawn

- Branching hammer

- Neon toadstool

- Xenia

- Kenya tree

- RBTA

- Ricordea

- 2 hermit crabs

- tons of snails (got an order from reefcleaners)

From what I can see, the tank seems to be thriving. I do my water changes religiously, approximately 15% every week. My tank is crawling with little amphipods,copopods, stomatella, etc. I've caught glimpses of a bristleworm, I have a feather duster growing and numerous sponges. I do have a little bit of bubble algae and hair algae which I am trying to get rid of. My temp doesn't fluctuate, pH is stable, as far as I can tell, everything is good.

I bought a pair of clownfish about 20 days ago from my LFS, which is highly regarded in my area. I drip acclimated them and they seemed to do well initially. The larger fish would harass the smaller one, which I understood to be normal. The smaller one didn't seem to eat much and after a few days, it came down with what I think is Brooklynella. It died shortly therafter. The larger fish came down with it as well a few days later. I woke up in the morning to see it covered in white film - and when I returned home from work with medication, it was dead. The smaller fish lived 7 days and the larger one lived 10 days. Neither showed symptoms initially and upon showing symptoms, it died within 12 hours.