inTank Media Baskets

Hydor vs Tunze ATO

dragonxflare

dragonxflare
Polyp Addict

I had an osomolator and loved it. Tunze makes a great product, even though they are pricey, you know what you're getting from them

I have the hydor hooked up for a week now and im digging it so far , seems to be working really well.The magnet is strong and I have it hook to the toms aqualifter. only mod I grinded one of the prongs on the aqualifter because the hydor female plug doesn't take standard plugs , where one prong has the bigger tip.

I've been running the osmolator for about 6 months now and I love it. I do wish the sensor puck had a smaller footprint in my 10g sump, but even so thats my only kind-complaint. The optical sensor has been working flawlessly for me so far. I do want to try that new AutoAqua SmartATO at some point. That thing is super small.

Let me throw the Spectrapure UPLC-II in the mix. I have been using one for over 5 years now with zero issues and feel it is a superior product.

http://spectrapure.com/AQUARIUM/AUTO-TOP-OFF-WATER-LEVEL-CONTROL/Auto-Top-Off-Electronic-Level-Control/Auto-Top-Off-System-UPLC-II-Liquid-Level-Controller

It comes with the same peristaltic pump used in their bulletproof LiterMeter, has many levels of safety like a digital sensor and flow adjustment in from 10% to 100% in 10% steps and is programmed with the push of a button.

oldSWseamomma

I LOVE my Tunze ATO - great product and so reliable. My salinity is spot on perfect all the time now and I never hear it running - haven't had any problems with it at all.

doppelganger

I also have the tunze universal edition. It's still one of my best investments in this hobby. The only thing I've had to do is replace the pump once and clean the sensor every so often. Other than that, it's worked flawlessly. The Hydor is fairly new so that may factor in. The tunze universal is definitely tried, tested and true.