SaltCritters.com

Zenreefer's Nuvo 8g

zenreefer

RESCAPED'

PKC1Cxe.jpg

UPDATED FTS (9/11/13, roughly 3months after staring the tank)

D1uEjjl.jpg

Hi guys, I am new to saltwater aquariums, but I've been reading different websites (especially NR) about the hobby for a few months now. I'm a student going to Uni that just moved in his first appartement. I wanted something new and different to keep me entertain and to decorate my new space... After looking at jellyfish tanks I realized that I could probably setup a saltwater tank for around 400$. That quickly changed to 1000$+ but whatever, I joined the hobby a month ago.

I bought myself a Nuvo 8G IM (white) after looking at Picos, Biocubes, etc. I bought it here at one of the LFS (www.ragingreef.com) where I now go to get all my tank thingies. Now that I have it I really like it :)

It's silent, very nicely designed and I think it's the perfect tank for someone who's just starting but can't spend over 500$ for a tank and another 500$ for livestock, etc etc. I wanted to keep my budget under 1k at least for the first months, which nearly happened.

I use Manado rock from the LFS (it's actually a rock he discovered in Bali, and he's the only one who gets it in north america… sounds fishy to me.. but whatever, it looks awesome and it's full of purple, blue, green and orange coraline). I initially put 2 small rock and a huge structure which took all the space. I changed that a few days later to something alot more spaced for future corals and fish space. I don't regret my choice. It went from nearly 10lbs of LR to something around 6. I putted some rumble in my rear chamber but I'm not sure it's such a great idea on the long run… I'll have to look into that.

I also use around 7lbs of Aragonite sand. Looks good, does the job. I initially wanted black sand… I might change one day who knows. For now, though, it's white. It's also better to hide detritus.