Cultivated Reef

phytoplankton. who's growing?

gogo

hello you fine folks of nano reef. i've been growing phyto for a few years now, only growing nanno. tetra. and iso. all from florida aqua farms. recently i ordered their dunaliella and started culturing it...i've noticed some significant changes in my system, both positive and negative...

i'm wondering if anyone here grows and uses phyto regularly?

post-67473-0-78478300-1371453715_thumb.jpg

• 3 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...
  • 1 month later...

I'd actually welcome any info you have to share on culturing phyto...

great....do you culture any?

currently i'm culturing dunaliella sp. and nannochloropsis occulata....i have some 'tetraselmis', but i think it's contaminated, it looks more like nanno.... i cycle through the two over a week, using parastaltic pumps dosing about 450 mls of five day culture to my 2.6 gallon invert vase.

i also hand feed when i think it's needed. usually the swamp(tetra).

i use twolitrebottles to culture with. never harvest before day five, don't let your cultures go past day nine, the more light the better, the less heat, the better.....one drop of fert per hundred mls....i use faf ferts that came with the plankton kit....the small bottle goes a long way for me..

i use the same fsw for my plankton as i do for my tank... sometimes if fsw is tight,i use old tank water, top it up with tap to ohtwofour and nuke it in a pyrex glass for six minutes...this kills most problems...even the new water gets nuked...