Pod Your Reef

Floydie83's Nuvo 16

floydie83

I am new to nano-reef but not to reef keeping. I recently moved and decided to downsize to a nano aquarium from a 90 gallon. I was really excited about the elegance and challenge of a nano reef tank and especially a sumpless AIO. Anyways here is what I have going for the last couple weeks.

http://s892.photobucket.com/user/floydie83/media/nuvo16/167acf5c-e839-4979-bc99-98fa1c02525e.jpg.html'>167acf5c-e839-4979-bc99-98fa1c02525e.jpg

Equipment:

IM Nuvo 16

Maxspect Razor 120w 16000k

AquaC Remora Nano Skimmer

Ecotech Marine Vortech MP10w

DA RKL Plus

Tunze ATO

I am still in the setup process and need to get the chords under control. I am thinking of building a box that fits on the shelf to hide all the chords and display my monitors. That will clean this build a bunch. Any other ideas are appreciated.

As far as livestock goes:

Carib Sea Fiji Pink Sand (~15 lb)

Live Rock (~10 lb)

2 Mocha Clowns

1 Tail Spot Blenny

Skunk Cleaner Shrimp

3 Astraea Snails

3 Margarita Snals

The tank cycled fairly quickly. I am really happy with the quality of it all the equipment I have gotten. The skimmer is the only thing I am a little disappointed with, maybe I just need to give it time. I am also developing a cyano problem that needs to be nipped. I suspect I'm getting too much natural light...nothing I can do. I think I will try the cover the tank up method since I have no corals yet. See if this helps.

My cyano is out of control it was floating up in sheets when I got home. Lets see how the 3 days no light method goes.

911216_10102436867679450_1384790911_n.jp

...and all wrapped up!

909365_10102436867255300_885064383_n.jpg

Unwrapped the tank last night! Cyano is under control. Water Change this morning. Nitrates are reading 0. Glad to see this method worked. Picked up a tail spot blenny this morning and a green ricordea. I also got my cables under control. Looking good and feeling happy about the tank.