Cultivated Reef

Creating Ceramic Live Rock

Huskerguy84

Huskerguy84

Hey,

I have been reading up on creating ceramic live rock and frag plugs. I am a high school art teacher and I have everything needed for creating ceramics. After 6 years of reef keeping I have finally attempted to create my first piece of live rock out of B-mix clay. which has sand in it. I know that some clay leaches silicates but I would cure it and seed it with real live rock, like normal. Before I search for some more information I was looking for more information from anyone who has experience with this subject. I would like to know what clay works best. I know that ceramic live rock does work and saves money, weight, and natural reefs. The piece below is hollow and does have holes that go to the center.

http://imageshack.us'>ImageShack.us

I know this looks like decor you would buy from Petco but remember it will be only bisque fired, will be covered in coraline, and is my first attempt to hand make one. I have a friend that wants be to create a back rock wall and some other decor pieces for his new aquarium. Let me know what can be improved on.

Thanks

the only thing I would suggest is roughing up the surface... like using rock salt as a print to make the surface look natural.. and while the plug holes may be useful, they are a bit of an eyesore (just unnatural).. otherwise, I love the shape and I think it's a great idea.. my .02, hope it helps..

also post #1k :)

• Like 1

Large grains of rock salt would make it much more porous although I do not know how that would affect the integrity of the structure.

Perhaps you could create a plain structure with the general shape that you want and then cover it with the rocksalt /ceramic clay mix. Then after it bakes simply soak it for a while and the salt will dissolve out leaving nice little pores.

Not sure if bubble in the clay would cause it to explode in the kiln though. :/