SaltCritters.com

4 gallon inverts

spartan1391

spartan1391

Im looking into getting a 4 gallon IM nuvo and was wondering what I could get in here? I want some corals later but wanted to get inverts first. How much is two much?I was thinking pom pom crab and a shrimp of some kind or a pistol goby pair. I need some ideas as I want to consider all my options. I want to stay with a 4 gallon but might move up to get the 8. Hmmmmm decisions decisions..........

I'm new to this and here so I appreciate all the help!

If you're on the fence just do the 8. It will give you room for the goby-pistol combo and the pom-pom no problem. Can't really wrong with more room anyways.

Islandoftiki

Cleaner shrimp are fun because they will clean your hands.

Goby/Pistol pair could work if you have a good rock for them to build a home under, but that's a fairly high bioload for 5 gallons. You will have to be dedicated to water changes every week with no slacking, and you would want an adequate filter, like an AC70 with a media basket/fuge setup. My goby/pistol shrimp combo in my 10 gallon is so much fun to watch.

Pistol shrimp by themselves are pretty reclusive.

I have a pom pom crab who is really cool when I see him once every week or so, for a couple seconds.

Skip fire shrimp, they hide ALL THE TIME!

I haven't had sexy shrimp, but they're a good option. Maybe a trio.

And get the 8. It's still pretty small, but it gives you a lot more options.

shaneandjohn

I agree, get the IM 8. It is still small, But, Big enough to open up your options a little bit. Shrimp/goby pair for the Bottom of the tank and then maybe a Single Designer Clown for the top! I am not sure if you plan on keeping many corals or not? Peppermint shrimp are cool shrimp,But they will steal food right out of corals. Be aware of that!