Coral Vue Hydros

Do you put kalkwasser in your ATO?

chabooky386

chabooky386

Just curious on how many people use Kalkwasser in their top off unit. I am looking to make sure that I am keeping my levels and parameters straight across the board and I have heard some good benefits with using Kalkwasser.

Thought and opinions appreciated!

Nano sapiens

Yes, I've been adding Kalk to my ATO for about 3-1/2 years in my 12g Nano. I've been using it for 20+ years and I've never had an issue.

Yes, I've been adding Kalk to my ATO for about 3-1/2 years in my 12g Nano. I've been using it for 20+ years and I've never had an issue.

Can you give more detail? How big is your ATO tank. How much Kalk do you add to it and how often? Do you have issues with slush at the bottom? Does your ATO pump have trouble (i have heard it can cause issues).

Thanks for sharing!

As long as you are adding the correct amount of kalk then there is no need to use 2 part until kalk cannot provide the proper dosage. Kalk also provides PH benefits. I used it in my 75 with amazing results.

The best way to use kalk is to use a still reservoir with a pump pulling from it after it has settled overnight. Faster if you add vinegar to it.

It's been awhile since I've looked up kalk but replacing 1% of your tanks volume at full saturation of 2tsp/gallon will raise your alk 1.4dkh and 7 ppm calcium .

Nano sapiens
Can you give more detail? How big is your ATO tank. How much Kalk do you add to it and how often? Do you have issues with slush at the bottom? Does your ATO pump have trouble (i have heard it can cause issues).

Thanks for sharing!

I don't use an ATO pump, my ATO is a gravity fed 'Pet Bottle'. I just add a predetermined amount of clear Kalkwasser each time I refill the ATOs.