Top Shelf Aquatics

Looking For A Unique CUC

dra6on451

Hi All

I'm new to the saltwater game and looking to setup a 30g or 16g rimless in my office. Since many of my clients are going to be looking at my tank I need the tank to be as diverse as possible. I noticed that every post on CUCs have the same 5 critters. My main issue is that of the 5 critters 3 are snails and they require many of them. Is there a possible combinations that contain abalone, chiton, conch, limpet, and urchins? And are there any other inverts that I might have over looked that would make a great addition to crew? I know the fish steal the spot light so I want to give the inverts in my tank a little love and make them a real focal point in my tank.

Rollermonkey

Welcome to Nano-Reef!

Conch and Abalone get VERY large. That would pose a problem if they can't climb your glass. I have a 1 foot long conch shell in my living room. I've been served abalone that were over 6 inches long at a restaurant. That would eventually become a problem in a 16g.

John at Reefcleaners has chitons and limpets that he'll include in a crew recommendation if you want them.

Urchins are also out there, but I believe several are not considered reef safe. Research would be key there.

I'd suspect that the snails and crabs that are used have been decided upon because they work. The species used eat what we want gone instead of the stuff that we're trying to keep. (Most of the time.)

I need to correct my post:

It will be a 30g tank with zoas and similar soft corals and a clam in the future. The 16g option was if the 30 was too big but if it is I'm going to bring it home and use the same setup. lol

I saw on a couple websites that said you can have in a 30g tank:

Abalone, Tropical (Haliotis sp.)

Fighting Conch (Strombus spp.)

Blue or Red Tuxedo Urchin (Mespilia globulus)

Chiton (I don't know exactly which)