Pod Your Reef

Phishin's 14G biocube (first tank)

G0nePhishin

G0nePhishin

Hey everyone! Well I posted this to user tanks and pretty much got ignored, so I thought I would drop it here to see If I could get some help. I am new to the nano-reef forums and want to share my new tank with you gurus. I am a novice and am seeking advice, pointers, recommendations, anything you are willing to dish out. I am a newbie but very serious about this hobby and have done lots of research, the only thing I don't have is experience, and in this hobby that is what matters most.

here are the specs:

cycling stared 3/21/12

coralife biocube 14

Gear

1 10,000 PC light

1 PC actinic ligt

3 Blue moonglow LED's

Maxi-jet 600 pump

visitherm 25 watt heater

JBJ nano glow refugium LED light

Life

~15 lbs of live rock

~9 lbs of live sand

5 hermit crabs

2 peppermint shrimp

2 turbo snails

1 ball of Chaeto

1 booster bottle of Tigger pods

Here are some pictures of my tank

http://imgur.com/a/F63WZ#0

The blue one is most recent, the clear one is last week on day 2 of cycling. The water was so much clearer then. Is this normal? How can I fix it? My best guess is a bacteria bloom.

It is just completing week 1 of cycling. I added my inverts yesterday. They seem to have acclimated really well. The peppermint shrimp are doing great, one molted last night, so I think that is a sign that my water parameters are good. I have some hair algae growth, but the hermits have been going to town on it as well as some diatom growth. I started with sea-pure water, just to be safe, but I have bought some salt and I plan on mixing my own with RO/DI from now on (still got 2.5 gallons of sea-pure left.)

Parameters

pH 8.0

ammonia 0 ppm (several days)

nitrites 0 ppm (several days)

nitrates 0 ppm (past few days)

temp 78-81