ReefCleaners.org

DIY Standalone pico reef attempt.

skitzy11

Hey i am new here and hoping to delve into your colective knowledge about this pico build i have started. I have seen alot of pico reef systems that have a 3:1+ refuge running on them to keep them ballanced so i decided to try something new. I set out to make a Pico/ Fuge all in one system < 2.5g total volume that hopfully can become balanced and thrive. As an added chalenge i want to spend no more than $100 on the build (i already have the lighting and pump).

Let me know any pointers/ ideas you have. As i said this is my first attempt at a < 10g system.

Here is my current design:

pikofuge.jpg

Piko2.jpg

I suggest that you make sure you have a fan incorporated in your hood/lighting because i have just set up my pico and it is sitting at 86F on hot days and 77F on an ordinary day this is in AUS summer time.

Just got done Glueing the acrylic. Had to switch some things around because the computer model just didnt let me know how small it was going to be. Full width baffles left me with with only 3" for the center chamber and no mechanical filtration. Ended up having to put the mechanical filtration inline with the pump (ramped it up to 65gph that i can crank down to about 30-40) which gained me an extra .75" for the center chamber. Pump chamber is 3.75" Mf is 3".

Sorry about the paint bucket but it just took me 8 hours to glue this thing togeather (damn you 2.5 hour wait time) so im not up to changing the 3d render.

Pikosumpfinal.jpg

Installed Overflow and return and siliconed suspect seams (more than i would have liked) ready to build lighting housing and water test tomarrow.

P1020986.jpg

Are the two parts attached? I'll tell you one thing, salt creep is going to ruin this tank. I had a similar design and the salt creep made me shut the tank down.