Coral Vue Hydros

Percula or ocellaris?

Zante

In a couple of weeks i will stock my tank with fish, and I was thinking of a pair of clowns. They will be the only fish in it.

I'm bringing this up now because I might have to order them.

I am undecided: ocellaris or perculas? What are the differences in a VERY practical sense?

Is there some difference in coloration I might have not noticed?

Behaviour? Adult size?

Anything might help me choose one or the other.

Any alternative clown suggestions are welcome, but please motivate.

i am a novice, but i've been reading on the same issue. from what I'm finding it seems ocellaris are larger but less aggressive. Whereas percula tend to be smaller and more territorial.

Doesn't really matter.. whichever one you think looks nicer. I have an occy who is neutral toward other fish but aggressive toward me. *shrug*

How about one of each?

Nah... I'd rather have a pair, in the off chance (however unlikely) that they may breed...

Would ocellaris be "happier" tha perculas without an anemone? I havo no intention of getting one for my tank.

What about other clown fishes? Any species about the same size as ocellaris and perculas worth considering, especially considering I won't be having an anemone?

Percs all the way! They get those black fillings that are just so cool. :)

Look at pictures and see which one you prefer, they're very similar. There's just something about percs that I like more though. They may be slightly more aggressive than occ from what people say, but definitely nothing to worry about other than when trying to pair them (which is a trouble you would still find in occ). I find Percs to stay bright when they get larger and occ are so so... Also if you get into design clowns, there is a large difference in band pattern.

Nah... I'd rather have a pair, in the off chance (however unlikely) that they may breed...

Percs and Occies can crossbreed without issue.