Innovative Marine Aquariums

AC 70 Fuge Mod -- What Media To Run?

nyknicks4412

So the last thing I need to add to my tank is the AC 70 modded to become a fuge. I have everything I need to do the modifications. My issue is I don't know what to run in it besides Chaeto. I was thinking filter floss and chemipure eite? Maybe some activated carbon? I don't know I am really new in terms of this stuff. Any suggestions or explanations on what they do would be great!

I run filter floss, chaeto and sometimes I will put chemipure elite... Activated carbon and chemipure elite are very similar products though so you can just get the chemipure elite and run that.

I run filter floss, chaeto and sometimes I will put chemipure elite... Activated carbon and chemipure elite are very similar products though so you can just get the chemipure elite and run that.

where do you put the filter floss and chemipure elite? also is there any negatives to consistently running chemipure? thanks for your help!

i took a piece of egg create and cut it to fit then put a filter sock over it. (i clean the fuge every week so its no problem) thats in the bottom, sock full of carbon and gfo just sits on that, and the chaeto on top of that.

to much gfo will melt the chaeto btw...

where do you put the filter floss and chemipure elite? also is there any negatives to consistently running chemipure? thanks for your help!

I don't think there is a negative but I don't think you NEED to run it consistently. Regular water changes and maintenance with filter floss and chaeto should keep your water polished like carbon or CPE does. I run the filter floss by the plastic blocking the chaeto from falling out of my AC110. Also, I run the small CPE bag.

i took a piece of egg create and cut it to fit then put a filter sock over it. (i clean the fuge every week so its no problem) thats in the bottom, sock full of carbon and gfo just sits on that, and the chaeto on top of that.