Pod Your Reef

Help picking a lens

Minimiz

So I'm still fairly new to photography (beyond my old P&S) and I recently got myself a Nikon D5100 with 18-55 and 55-200 lens kits. Takes good pics, but not great ones like what most of you are posting here. After doing a good amount of reading, its apparent I shoud get a better lens suited for this. I was browsing the best buy macro lens section and this one jumped out at me because of the price and reviews. Anyone here have experience using it? The reviews rave about it for indoor and low light situations, but only found one person mention it for macro. Hard to pass up a macro lens for $200, but I'm not sure if it will work correctly for what I'm looking to do. Feedback is appreciated and open to suggestons on other cost efficient lenses I should consider.

PS

What would a post in here be without a pic?

Urchin that snuck his way into the tank on some live rock

Urchin.jpg

Its not a macro lens, but it's great for a low light, prime lens. can be used for portraits as well.

I am not to sure this is what you're looking for.

check out http://www.amazon.com/Nikon-40mm-2-8G-Micr...3336&sr=8-1

it's cheap and a macro (or "micro" in Nikon term.) However, I would suggest going to the 90-100 range if you're shooting your tank coral.

40mm is a pretty short range, so if you're not shooting at stuff that are right in front of your tank glass, than this macro might be pointless

look at the tokina 100mm , tamron 90mm, or sigma 105mm macro lens for more of an affordable price. I got my used sigma 105mm for like 275

Thanks for the feedback. I figured from the reviews of the other lens that it was more for portaits, didn't hurt to have some hope lol.