Pod Your Reef

New pico set up. Where to begin?

dougellefson

I've been caring for a 28gallon nano cube reef for about 5 years. My 7 year old son has always been mesmerized with the beauty, and I have had him involved with every aspect of the hobby since he was just a wee one.

Well he's started asking about his own tank now.

My first thought is a pico.

I'm looking for advice on a 3 or 5 gallon set up.

I understand all the cons to the "smaller" system, and I have no plan to just turn over the reigns and have him handle it. I will be helping with every aspect of the new tank's care.

It will likely he heavy on "easy to care for" soft corals and maybe one small fish.

I just want to help him feel like he has his "own". In reality the only way it will be "his" will be because it will be in "his" room. I guess when I think about it now, I own that too...

I've done a bit of looking here at set ups other members have, I was hoping for some input, maybe a short shopping list of tank, filter, light, etc... to help me along.

Thanks.

I really find being a member here at nano reef to be an invaluable resource to keep my continually improving my care for my little corner of the ocean.

I think setting up a tank for your kid is a great idea to keep him involved in the hobby! I have a 3g JBJ Picotope which you can check out. I haven't updated in a while but plan on doing so soon considering I just added a bunch of frags. Here was my shopping list when I set it up:

3g JBJ Picotope (obviously)

AC30 (which I modded the El Fab way) - I do wish I had gone with the AC50

Elite Submersible Preset Heater Mini, 25-Watt

Koralia 240 gph powerhead

Underwater Halogen Lights 10-Watt - for the refug.

Petco Bottle - I use this as a gravity ATO to keep my water level even. When and if you buy one of these I highly recommend you pick one and then go one size bigger because I need to refill mine around 1-2 times daily.