Innovative Marine Aquariums

Interested in a semi self sustainable nano.

Douten

Hello all. Total new comer to the world of aquariums here. I've been reading around a bit and I feel comfortable enough to ask for some input on my idea. I've written to some member who I thought might be able to help, but wanted to make a thread for all as well. Again, I am new to this so please bare with me.

What I'm aiming for is a small spherical bowl shaped (with opening) low maintenance, very self sustainable nano aquarium. The bowl I'm getting is this http://www.amazon.com/Nature-Pure-Sphere-G...m/dp/B004Q3XWIY it holds about 2.5gal. I don't mind tipping the water off and exchanging water but I don't want any mechanical filter system. I'm hoping water exchange will remove excess nutrient as well as nitrate?

From what I've read fish is a big hazard to this type of environment because of their waste, so I won't be including any. For live stock I'm thinking a few(3-4) shrimp, one hermit crab, 2 snails, and perhaps a small starfish, they seem hardy.

Of course this bowl will look like a mini ghetto aquascape more than anything I imagine since I'm reading that lots of plants will be needed to create a balance with the waste. I don't mind that, actually I'd like it. But the question I have is which plants do I get for a marine based bowl? I like the small one that can be planted across the whole looks like a grass field. Is that recommended? Also would adding live rock or a tiny coral be hazardous to this environment as well?

My goal is to have a pretty self sustainable ecosystem. I don't mind exchanging water, etc. I also don't want to have to feed the live stock, I hope the algae and other small micro organism is enough for the cleaning crew. Anyone with any experience/knowledge on this and have some tips I would be very grateful.

Thank you for your time :)

altolamprologus