Innovative Marine Aquariums

Tank Setup Day 1

Pseudo Gregoree

Pseudo Gregoree

ok well i got my ecosystem 40 filter today, and im quite impressed except for the fact that it did not come with the piping to get the water back to the main tank from the pump, but other than that it looks good.

Tomorrow i go get the 15 lbs of live rock and my sand bed as well as a good supply of copepods and caulerpa(sp).

So as ofdtoday we have

15 gallon tank

90 watts of pc lighting, 45 watts of blue, 45 watts daylight (see pic)

eco system 40 with built in wet/dry filter, refugium, and a nice place for my heater.

also a micro jet power head for some circulation in the main tank.

first questions:

how do i start the siphon into the ecosystem... the directions are very vague and i am new to the whole overflow box thing...

well heh i think thats it for now... the tank isnt quite as scratched up as it looks, i think just the light makes it look alot worse.

anyways, give me some feedback guys :)

thanks

heres the pics

tank.jpg

ecosystem.jpg

lights.jpg

(Edited by Pseudo Gregoree at 12:13 am on June 21, 2002)

The easiest way I know to start the siphon in an overflow is to stick an air line tube into the "U" tube so that the end of it is at the peak of the arch then put the "U" tube back with one end in the overflow and one end in the ecosystem(both ends have to be in water) then suck the air out and once all the air is out pull the air line out and turn on the pump that returns water to the main tank. The water moving from the ecosystem to the main tank will cause water to be siphoned through the "U" tube back into the ecosystem.

what my friend did was put a large air tube (1/2") thru the siphon tube thats in the overflow and start sucking to make a suction in order to pull the water. its rather hard, dont know if theres any easier way since he got ####ed when i pulled it out and he had to do it all over again.